Microsoft Windows Phone 7 or Apple iPhone, iPad, and iPod Touch?

Posted: June 28, 2010 in Blogroll, interactive fiction, Textfyre
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

So I’m looking at being a part of the launch of the new Windows Phone 7 and have a dilemma. Andrew is nearing completion of the iPhone/iPad/iPod, and Mac OSX framework for FyreVM games. I’m working on the Silverlight code for Windows Phone 7 games. I think it’s going to be a tie as to when we get the code done.

So then I have to decide how I want to market the new platforms and whether I simply fire off versions for every platform. Do I market just the mobile apps? Do I do just iPad? Do I do just Microsoft or just Apple?

These are the questions I’m pondering every day now.

Comments
  1. Matt Wigdahl says:

    What are the reasons why you couldn’t cover them all? Is it just resources to test the various platforms? It would seem like a pretty good idea to have coverage for all of them if you could.

    Personally I’m not sure how wide acceptance Windows Phone 7 is going to have — certainly in the mobile space Apple is by far the dominant of the two right now and would probably have better immediate payback. We’ll have to see.

    • This is a marketing issue, not a production issue. Apple certainly has a wider hardware deployment, but that also means my apps could get lost in the shuffle and my pricing strategy might suffer. Obviously we have no idea what will happen with the WP7 phones sales, but I suspect Microsoft is going to throw a lot of money at app development to make it at least interesting. One solution would be to launch exclusively on WP7 and see what happens. It could make our products more visible in the short term. In the long term, I’d probably launch on all platforms.

  2. Dannii says:

    Don’t forget Android.

  3. stereo says:

    hi,
    and don’t forget maemo/meego.

Leave a Reply

