Get Lamp 3

Posted: October 22, 2010 in Blogroll, interactive fiction, Textfyre
Tags: , ,

I originally watched Get Lamp, Jason Scott’s documentary about IF, in Boston at PAX East in March. It was raw, but I had trouble with the lack of attention on the existing community and nature of IF.

Then I got my free copy from Jason and watched that…and although it was no longer raw, it still lacked a great deal where the current IF scene is concerned.

Last night Jason did a screening at google Chicago with the Chicago IF Group and something strange happened. It was great. I could swear that I’d never seen any of the film that dealt with the community, the tools, the competition. Did I somehow miss this on the DVD? Did I lose a chapter? Did Jason show a different version last night?

I have no answers.

But the movie, as I saw it last night, appeases all of the concerns I had in earlier viewings. Well, I wish the Berlyn comment was balanced somehow, but it’s such a powerful moment that I can’t see leaving it out. It is what it is.

But the movie, as I saw it last night, was great.

Comments
  1. Dark Star says:

    I’m glad you have a different opinion of it now. I think Jason did a great job. But I did have problems on my DVD player with the interactive version, so I end up watching the non-interactive version which has all the parts, playing the game, puzzles, the modern scene, etc. The interactive version just stopped after the first part and ends on Meretzky and the rewind restore thing, at least for me.

    I hope that helps – D

  2. Laroquod says:

    You might have seen (or somehow been more focused on) the Infocom featurette earlier. It’s still on the disc but it’s separate from the main feature, which is much more balanced, I find.

    • No I actually watched the Infocom segment last. I had a very hard time getting the DVD to play the main movie. It seemed to want to end with Meterzky’s pause. It may be my DVD player. Even though I understand Jason’s motive for doing the interactive version, I think it’s lost on most people and seems to break the movie in some DVD players. Even so, I’m glad I got to see it in full last night.

Leave a comment